How Do You Find Work As A Hair or Makeup Artist?

michelle1So you moved to the big city, now how do you find work as a Hair or Makeup Artist? That seems to be the big question on every artist’s mind. It amazes how many artists don’t know how to find work. Ok, yes most schools do give you some sort of a career day, but is that enough? I’ve been working as a Makeup Artist for about fourteen years now and I consider myself to be very successful. I have worked with both new artists and legends alike. I am blessed enough to have clients I can depend on to call me on a monthly basis. I like to use the term blessed rather than lucky because it is a blessing to be working, but I believe you make you own luck. I worked hard to get to where I am. I was relentless at knocking on doors, sending out my resume, emailing my website, and networking I’m wanting to fall over. This is what I want other artists who are struggling out there to understand: it takes time, effort, money, and persistence to make it in this business. Two days ago I was working with, Brian McKnight and he said something that rang true to me, “if you can self-promote then you don’t need to be in this business.” The one thing that artists need to understand is that they have to advertise their services on a monthly if not daily basis. You have to do a combination of the following:

1. Call production companies to find out who hires.

2. Both fax and email your resume.

3. Email people on a monthly basis a link to your website with your updated work.

4. Create promotional pieces such as comp cards with photos of your best with along with your contact information on it.

5. Send reminder cards to the clients you have worked with and let them know what you have been working on.

6. Go to every networking events so that you can and collect other people’s business cards.

7. Follow up with people you met at networking events.

8.Ask for referrals.

9. Repeat steps 1-8 each month.

If this sounds like a lot of work it is! Running your own business is a lot of work. You have to realize that freelance work means running your own business. It costs money to advertise so be prepared! If this sounds overwhelming, we can help you. At The Hair & Makeup Artist Network we can help you create a comprehensive marketing plan to help increase your client base. We offer services such as email marketing, website creation, direct mailings to people who hire, networking event, and group ads to get your name out there and in front of directors and producers. You can call us for more information at 323 913 9375 or visit our website at:

http://www.hmartistsnetwork.com

Michelle Lee

Makeup Maverick

http://www.hmartistsnetwork.com

http://www.mymakeupart.com

February 7, 2009. Tags: , . Hair & Makeup Jobs, Hair & Makeup Marketing, Working as a Hair or Makeup Artist.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

