Tales from Behind the Makeup Chair

IMG_7732 IMG_7229

When I was a young girl I dreamed of living in Hollywood. Like most people I grew up watching television shows with icon characters from shows like the Brady Bunch or The Cosby Show. Then I dreamed of working with movie stars or being one. Now I’m all grown up and somehow I actually found my way to Hollywood. I always find it strange when I’m working with one of these television icons. Even though I may be living the life I intended for myself, I find it strange when I’m in the same room with Marcia Brady or Rick Springfield. I mean, yes its what I dreampt about, but it still seems a little surreal to me. I grew up in Virginia where TV land was a distant world. I can’t help wonder what its like for the child star who doesn’t know anything different.

This business seems to give everyone working in it a strange version of reality. I’ve been working on this celebrity biography show for the past year call “Unscripted”. Currently the show only airs on the Vision Network in Canada, but I often find myself in a room full of former teen idols and television icons. It’s very weird, but I have to say I love every second of it. It’s good to know that anything is possible and if you work hard at it, you achieve any dream imaginable. I didn’t grow up in Hollywood with these people coming to family gatherings. I was a girl raised by a single parent. We didn’t have money or connections. I just picked up, moved, and made it happen. If I can do it then anyone can. Don’t wait for someone to give you your break. You make it happen.

Michelle Lee
Makeup Maverick
http://www.hmartistsnetwork.com
http://www.mymakeupart.com

September 24, 2009. Tags: , , . Hair & Makeup Jobs, Working as a Hair or Makeup Artist.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

